Community Action


We must open the doors of opportunity. But we must also equip our people to walk through those doors.


Family Development


Case Management



Emergency Services

Food Pantries

Energy Assistance

Homeless Shelters

Domestic Violence

Food & Nutrition

Meals on Wheels

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance  Program (SNAP)

Congregate Feeding

Food Banks

Training & Employment Services

Job Readiness

Job Training

Job Creation

Community Coordination

Citizen Engagement

Community Assessment

Information and Referrals


Head Start

Youth Mentoring


Adult Basic Education


Health Clinics

Women, Infants and Children (WIC)

Prescription Assistance

Economic Development

Business Planning and Loans


Water and Sewer

Asset Development

Individual Development Accounts (IDA)

Budget Counseling


Self-Help Housing

Home Ownership

Rental Assistance


Transportation Assistance

Rural Transportation Systems

On-Demand Transportation

Community Action History

The “Community Action Program” (CAP) was established over thirty-five years ago by Congress as a centerpiece of the War on Poverty. The goal of the program, which is now part of the Community Services Block Grant, is to reduce poverty, revitalize low-income communities, and empower low-income individuals and families to become fully self-sufficient. The program is carried out by a national network of over 1,300 designated Community Action Agencies (CAAs), which provide a diverse array of services to and advocacy on behalf of low-income individuals and families.


  Community Action is run by the Administration for Children and Families (ACF), a division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, which oversees a broad range of federal programs that address the needs of children and families. To ease the burden of oversight and administration, ACF created 9 regions. California along with Arizona, Hawaii and Nevada and the trust territories of American Samoa, Guam, and Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, make up our region – Region IX.

Region IX Community Action Association

As the membership organization for Region IX, the purposes of the Association are to provide opportunities for Region IX directors and staff to come together and share information, ideas, and mutual concerns; support the efforts of the Community Action Partnership (CAP), the National Community Action Foundation (NCAF), and other organizations that encourage the development of resources which demonstrate progress toward the elimination of poverty; and promote professional growth and competence of Region IX member agencies and associations through training and support.

Region IX Regional Performance and Innovation Consortium (RPIC)

Through cooperative agreements with the Office of Community Services (OCS), a division of the ACF, the purpose of Regional Performance and Innovation Consortia (RPIC) is to support ongoing state, regional, and national training and technical assistance (T/TA) strategies for collaboration, capacity-building, and exemplary practice in the CSBG program and among state Community Action agency associations. Each RPIC coordinates regional T/TA activities among state associations with the mission of ensuring that all CSBG-eligible entities are able to meet high-quality performance standards and utilize evidence-informed service approaches to address the identified needs of low-income people.


Financial Reports

Annual Reports

Strategic Plans